top of page

Curriculum for Wales

The biggest change is a new curriculum for schools and funded non-maintained settings in Wales from September 2022. It will affect all schools except independent schools. The curriculum has been made in Wales but shaped from the best ideas and experts from around the world.


There will also be changes to improve how we assess children and young people in education, support children with additional learning needs and teacher and practitioner training and accountability. These improvements will complement the new curriculum.

​The new curriculum will be taught in all schools and funded non-maintained settings up to Year 7 from September 2022. It will then roll out year by year until it includes Year 11 by 2026.

Screenshot 2020-12-16 at 14_44_49.webp

Schools will first see the final version of the curriculum in 2020, giving them time to prepare. School leaders and teachers will receive support and training to prepare them between now and 2022. 

New pupil assessment arrangements will be introduced alongside the new curriculum. These will help learners and parents understand how they are performing and what they need to do next.

Four Purposes

The four purposes of the curriculum are the shared vision and aspiration for every child and young person. They guide and direct everything we do at Oak Field Primary School. In supporting the development of the four purposes, we set high expectations for all – to raise standards, tackle the attainment gap, and ensures our curriculum supports lifelong learning.

The four purposes are at the heart of our new curriculum. They are the starting point for all decisions on the content and experiences developed as part of the curriculum to support our children and young people to become:

  • Ambitious, capable learners ready to learn throughout their lives

  • Enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work

  • Ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world

  • Healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society.

The new curriculum will include:

  • 6 Areas of Learning and Experience from 3 to 16

  • 3 Cross curriculum responsibilities: literacy, numeracy and digital competence

  • Progression reference points at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16

  • Achievement outcomes which describe expected achievements at each progression reference point.

The curriculum will be organised into 6 Areas of Learning and Experience:

  • Expressive arts

  • Health and well-being

  • Humanities (including RE which should remain compulsory to age 16)

  • Languages, literacy and communication (including Welsh, which should remain compulsory to age 16, and modern foreign languages)

  • Mathematics and numeracy

  • Science and technology (including computer science)

bottom of page